Betting on Univ of Mass Minutemen Football

The University of Massachusetts Minutemen play their college football at the sport's highest level. That means NCAA Division I action, where UMass plays in the Mid-American Conference (MAC) through the 2015 season. UMass is shopping for a new conference to play football in, and is renovating 17,000 seat McGuirk Stadium. The team has alternately been known as the Aggies, Statesman and the Redmen. As a founding member of the Yankee Conference, UMass claimed an outstanding 17 Conference Championships. They lost by a TD to Florida A&M in the very first Division I AA championship, winning 4 conference titles while a member of the Atlantic 10 Conference. The biggest rivals for UMass football include Boston College and the University of Rhode Island. This guide will feature a variety of topics for Massachusetts football betting, including pages devoted to betting on the Minutemen and for betting on Boston College football. We have also covered the state's NFL presence with our guide to betting on the New England Patriots. It is our intention to provide a helpful resource that contributes to your informed decisions regarding your football betting activity. We've also included information about which of the leading online sportsbooks accept Massachusetts residents and offer betting lines on the state's football teams as well as teams from around the country.

Leading Massachusetts College Football Betting Sites

Betonline Sports Site

Sportsbook Name Welcome Bonus USA Accepted Rating Visit
Bovada Sportsbook 50% - $250 Yes 5 Stars Visit
Betonline Sportsbook 25% - $1000 Yes 5 Stars Visit 25% - $1000 Yes 5 Stars Visit
Bookmaker 15% - $2500 Yes 4 Stars Visit

Massachusetts Minutemen Football 2014 Season

The 2014 Massachusetts Minutemen football completed the season with a disappointing 3-9 record with their three wins coming against conference opponents Kent State, Eastern Michigan, and Ball State. The Minutemen faced difficult non-conference schedule matchups against Boston College and Penn State, losing 30-7 to Boston College and 48-7 against Penn State in Happy Valley. The team lost their other two non-conference games in heartbreaking fashion by a total of six points to Power 5 Conference opponents Colorado and Vanderbilt to close out the non-conference schedule. The Minutemen continued to drop close games in Mid-American Conference play as well, losing to Bowling Green, Miami (OH), and Toledo by a combined 13 points and finished the 2014 campaign with two big losses against conference foes Akron and Buffalo.

Massachusetts was led offensively by Senior quarterback Blake Frohnapfel, who was second in the Mid-American Conference with 3,345 yards passing with 23 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. The Minutemen rushing attack was led by the duo of Shadrach Abrokwah and Lorenzo Woodley. They combined for 993 yards on 226 carries and 12 touchdowns. Arguably the biggest playmaker on the Minutemen offense was Junior wide receiver Tajae Sharpe, who hauled in 85 receptions for 1,281 yards and 7 touchdowns. Frohnapfel, Sharpe, and Tight End Jean Sifrin were all named to the Mid-American 1st team. Unfortunately the Minutemen defense struggled all year, giving up 33 points and nearly 448 total yards per contest. The defense allowed 35 points or more in 4 of 8 conference games.

Postseason UMass Football History

As a member of the Football Bowl Subdivision, the University of Massachusetts men's football team plays at the highest level. They began playing football in 1879, and back when they were a member of the Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), the Minutemen won the National Title in 1998. In the Division II playoffs of 1977 the Minutemen made it to the quarterfinal round, losing to Lehigh by a score of 30 – 23. As a Division I AA playoff participant the University of Massachusetts claims National Titles in 1978, 1998 and 2006. UMass owns a 10 – 7 overall record in Division I AA playoff games. The Minutemen appeared in bowl games in 1964 and 72, losing to East Carolina and beating UC Davis respectively.

University of Massachusetts Football Conference Championships

Winning a national title is the obvious eventual goal of most teams. But you usually can't do that unless first winning your conference championship. From 1960 through 2007, the University of Massachusetts football team has been a member of 3 conferences - The Yankee Conference, the Atlantic 10 Conference and the Colonial Athletic Association. Not many football programs at any level can claim they have won at least one title in every conference in which they played. But from 1960 through 2007, the University of Massachusetts football team won 22 conference titles. That includes an unbelievable 17 titles from 1960 through 1990 in the Yankee Conference. The Minutemen then took home the Atlantic 10 Conference Championship 4 times from 1998 through 2006. They added a Colonial Athletic Association Conference title in 2007.

Interesting Facts About the University of Massachusetts Football Program

• From 1879 through 1897, the University of Massachusetts played football without a coach! It should be no surprise that they accomplished just a 30 – 58 – 6 record during that time.

• The school has had 30 football coaches as of the 2014 season. This means that each coach averaged just a little more than 4 years as the program leader.

• Mark Whipple is the current UMass football coach. This is his second stretch as head coach of the Minutemen, as he directed UMass to an impressive 49 – 26 record from 1998 - 2003 before leaving the school.

• NFL wide receiver Victor Cruz was elected as an All-Pro in 2011, and made it to the Pro Bowl in 2012. He played his college football at the University of Massachusetts, entering the NFL as an undrafted free agent.

• During the 2014 season, the National Football League included 6 University of Massachusetts football players.

• Running back Michael Cox and wide receiver Victor Cruz were teammates at UMass. They are playing football once again, both currently employed by the New York Giants of the NFL.

• Dick MacPherson (head coach from 1971 through 1977) and Milt Morin (Tight End 1963 – 1965) are University of Massachusetts members of the college Football Hall of Fame.

Additional Information for Massachusetts Minutemen Football Fans

Univ of Mass Minutemen Football Official Website

NCAAF Official Website